ACFW Announces 2022 Christian Fiction and Industry Awards

ACFW ACFW, News Leave a Comment


Palm Bay, FL: The American Christian Fiction Writers in person conference at the Hyatt Regency at the Arch, St. Louis included their 2022 Awards Gala with a number of significant industry awards. Prolific author and devoted mentor and teacher Gayle Roper was honored with ACFW’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Among other recognitions are the following winners of the Carol Awards, honoring Christian fiction published in the previous calendar year. Congratulations to these Carol Award winning authors and their publishing houses and editors.


A Piece of the Moon by Chris Fabry

Tyndale House

Editor – Sarah Rische


The Orchard House by Heidi Chiavaroli

Tyndale House

Editors – Caleb Sjogren and Jan Stob

Historical Romance

The Prince of Spies by Elizabeth Camden, Bethany House (Baker) Publishing, Editors Raela Schoenherr and Jessica Sharpe


Dark Intercept by Andrews and Wilson, Tyndale House, Editor Karen Watson


A Texas Christmas Carol (from Under the Texas Mistletoe) by Karen Witemeyer, Bethany House (Baker) Publishing, Editors Dave Long and Jessica Sharpe


All That Really Matters by Nicole Deese, Bethany House (Baker) Publishing, Editors Sarah Long and Raela Schoenherr

Romantic Suspense

Driven by Sara Davison, Mountain Brook Ink, Editor Miralee Ferrell

Short Novel

Choosing His Family by Jill Lynn, Love Inspired (Harlequin), Editor Shana Asaro


Windward Shore by Sharon Hinck, Enclave Publishing, Editors Lindsay Franklin and Reagen Reed

Young Adult

Realms of Light by Sandra Fernandez Rhoads, Enclave Publishing, Editors Lisa Laube and Steve Laube

Debut Author

Sugar Birds by Cheryl Grey Bostrom, She Writes Press, Editors Sandra Byrd and Alexandra Shelley


Congratulations also go to the winners of the 2022 Genesis Contest for to-date unpublished Christian fiction:

Contemporary—Shelli Littleton for The Memory List

Historical—Christine Boatwright for The Lion Prophecy

Historical Romance—Christine J Hill for Winter Bride

Mystery/Suspense/Thriller—Ann Larson for The Three Panels

Novella—Annette Griffin for The Knightly Stalker

Romance—Lori DeJong for Love’s True Calling

Romantic Suspense—Breana Johnson for Deadly Superstitions

Short Novel—Lyndee Henderson for Signs of Love

Speculative—John Leatherman for Capable

Young Adult—Amy Bryant for Daughter of Lion, Son of Mage


Also announced during the virtual gala were the following:

Editor of the Year—Stephanie Broene – Tyndale House Publishers

Agent of the Year—Cynthia Ruchti – Books and Such Literary Agency

Mentor of the Year—DiAnn Mills

Volunteer of the Year Award—Becky Yauger

Member Service Award—Hallee Bridgeman


Special thanks to the contest coordinators: Genesis—Teresa Haugh, Carol Award—Gabrielle Meyer, ACFW Contests Administrator—Robert Turner, and to the judges, assistants, and ACFW staff.


ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) is a professional organization devoted to the craft of Christian Fiction. Its mission is to “help you tell your stories by inspiring you to partner with God in the creative process, learn the craft, and find your audience.”


For more information about ACFW:  You can find a link to this press release at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *