ACFW’s 2023 Christian Fiction and Industry Awards

ACFWACFW, Conference, News Leave a Comment

  ACFW Announces 2023 Christian Fiction and Industry Awards

Palm Bay, FL: The 2023 American Christian Fiction Writers conference at St. Louis, Missouri’s Hyatt Regency at the Arch included the much-anticipated Awards Gala spotlighting this year’s Christian fiction industry awards. Author, instructor, and writing craft resource expert James Scott Bell was honored with ACFW’s Lifetime Achievement Award. ACFW CEO Colleen Coble notes that “James Scott Bell has influenced so many experienced and up-and-coming authors in their careers. His engaging teaching and communications skills complement his devotion to our craft.”

Among other recognitions, congratulations are due these Carol Award winning authors for taking top honors in their category along with their publishing houses and editors.


The Songs That Could Have Been by Amanda Wen; Kregel Publications; Editors Dori DeVries Harrell and Janyre Tromp


The Lost Melody by Joanna Davidson Politano; Revell (a division of Baker Publishing Group); Editors Barbara Barnes and Vicki Crumpton

Historical Romance

Written on the Wind by Elizabeth Camden; Bethany House (Baker Publishing Group); Editors Luke Hinrichs and Jessica Sharpe


Fallout by Carrie Stuart Parks; Thomas Nelson Fiction (HarperCollins); Editors Amanda Bostic and Erin Healey


While Mortals Sleep (O Little Town collection) by Janyre Tromp; Kregel Publications; Editor Christina Tarabochia


Turn to Me by Becky Wade; Bethany House (Baker Publishing Group); Editors Sarah Long and Raela Schoenherr

Romantic Suspense

Word of Honor by Hallee Bridgeman; Revell (a division of Baker Publishing Group); Editors Vicki Crumpton and Jessica English

Short Novel

Hunted in the Wilderness by Kellie VanHorn; Love Inspired (Harlequin); Editor Dina Davis


Dream of Kings by Sharon Hinck; Enclave Publishing (Oasis Family Media); Editor Reagen Reed

 Young Adult

Wishtress by Nadine Brandes; Thomas Nelson Fiction (HarperCollins); Editor Becky Monds

Debut Author

The Extraordinary Deaths of Mrs. Kip by Sara Brunsvold; Revell (a division of Baker Publishing Group); Editor Rachel McRae


ACFW congratulates the winners of the 2023 Genesis Contest for as yet unpublished Christian fiction:

Contemporary–Leslie DeVooght – The Heartfelt Formula

Historical–Jacinta Meredith – A Picture of the Past

Historical Romance–Erin Mifflin – A Child So Fair

Mystery/Suspense/Thriller–Cindy Rieke – In the Name of Treason

Romance–Lisa Kelley – Last Wish for Tomorrow

Romantic Suspense–Elaine Clampitt – High Altitude Abduction

Speculative–Andra Loy – Inverse

Young Adult–Andra Loy – Echo of Secrets


Also announced during the Awards Gala were the following:

Agent of the Year–Steve Laube (The Steve Laube Agency)

Editor of the Year–Becky Monds (HarperCollins Christian Publishing)

Volunteer of the Year–Rachel Hauck

Mentor of the Year–Tari Faris

The Martha Rogers Member Service Award–Brandilyn Collins

Special thanks to the contest coordinators: Genesis—Teresa Haugh, Carol Award—Gabrielle Meyer, ACFW Contests Administrator—Robert Turner, and to the judges, assistants, and ACFW staff.


ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) is a professional organization devoted to the craft of Christian Fiction. Its mission is to “help you tell your stories by inspiring you to partner with God in the creative process, learn the craft, and find your audience.”


For more information about ACFW:  You can find a link to this press release at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *